Movies

There are some things that I don’t really know how to describe. Like what it feels like to be another person. How do we make people understand what it’s like to live another life?

Life experiences are made up of a plethora of memories: How the streets smell like, how the weather makes your skin feel in the afternoon and when you wake up in the morning; the mannerisms of average people and the general vibe of a city…

That’s why I think movies are great biographies and history lessons. You can’t necessarily smell and taste the same things as the actors in the movie while you’re in the movie theatre, but movies move me more than any book or radio show. I just watched the Korean flick “Voice of a Murderer” based on a real kidnapping case in Seoul in which the culprit is still at large, pretty much like “Zodiac”. It doesn’t have a great budget, but like “Panic Room” which stars Jodie Foster, great cinematography and direction is enough to make a movie warrant a 5 star review rating. More importantly, I think in a time like this, movies become semi-documentaries as well. Done right, it’s actually rather enlightening, especially when it’s based on actual events, like “Border Town” starring J.Lo which reveals the victimization of women working in Mexico factories, “Fast Food Nation” which warns the public about what goes into their burger et cetera.

Sudden inspiration spurred me to write this entry, but I wonder how long the effect’s going to last. I guess to truly awaken a community with a warning (eg. global warming), or to change public opinion, it takes a succession of efforts to turn important messages into everyday reminders, but in a gradually memorable manner. It’s fascinating how propaganda can be applied to any medium, and watching how propaganda can turn into conventional wisdom (“coffee ain’t good for you!” VS “coffee has beneficial anti-oxidants!”) shows how easily people can be swayed. The majority, at least. That’s where censorship comes in. We don’t want the wrong messages to turn into acceptable conventional wisdom, do we? But of course, there are 10,000 other things to talk about if we go down that road of censorship. So. Back to where I started.

Movies can do that (propaganda) most easily because experiencing 2 hours of film “based on actual events” makes people feel like they are ready to empathize with the character and subject matter in the film. I wonder if I’m alone in this, but every time I step out of a cinema theatre after watching a very intense movie, I tend to be slightly affected by how the characters talk and feel, like after a thriller I’ll still be a bit uptight after the movie ends…but that feeling only lingers for maybe, 30mins tops. So. Yea just wanted to see if anyone shares this feeling. Or is it just me. Maybe that’s why I can’t watch horror movies.. I couldn’t face the TV for 2 weeks after watching The Ring when I was 14 years old. Lol. Talk about movie aftermath.

Leave a Reply

