Of style, fun and thought.

Pictures here.

In a nutshell, this evening was great. My sister was having her fashion design graduation catwalk show at Ritz, and I brought my own friends along. It’s such a wonderful experience to actually be there and look at all the amazing pieces the students came up with. The school in question is Raffles Design Institute Singapore.

And oh my. I must say I was really impressed with the quality of some of the collections. They look good enough to be couture staples. Some of them. Too bad I didn’t manage to catch all of the works cuz there were 2 shows and we only bought tickets for the one that had my sister’s collection in it, but this evening was very inspiring. And it made me realise that fashion, like wine and film, has to be appreciated subjectively, discriminatingly. If clothe maketh the man, then wine maketh the man’s taste and film, the man’s depth. Of course this is a very linear way of correlating the 3 elements of aesthetics, but these 3 are classic examples to draw an analogy to the quote “one man’s meat may be another man’s poison”.
I must say ever since my sister enrolled herself into a fashion design course, I was intrigued by the way the fashion universe works. I now admire Diane von Furstenberg because of an interview in Financial Times because I mostly agree with what she says, and I marvel at how her one design of the wrap dress became defined as an invention that in turn became a hallmark of an era for women. Just as how the late Yves Saint Laurent empowered women by creating stylish, figure-accentuating suits for them. Fascinating stuff. I might be tempted to go into fashion one day.

For now, I’ll be an audience and be content as a consumer.
Check this out. My sister made these~!

Leave a Reply

