The dilemma of categorization

As I was downing the chow at 8:30pm near my place today and reflecting on the day’s events, a vision suddenly came through my mind… I saw myself being analyzed by a shrink in 2 seconds flat. She asked me to fill a simple yet discerning questionnaire that put me into one of the classifications of mental conditions.

As I considered the possibility of that very situation being a real one, if it does happen, I’d be so torn between feeling relieved that my mental illness is easily diagnosable and therefore treatable and how insulting it is that my entire mental psyche takes only seconds to define, catergorize and typify.

I hope I never have to face a shrink.

Leave a Reply

