Pit Stop 2016

Hello, old friends. It’s been too long.

In the time I’ve been away, I’ve written a few private posts here and there which I won’t publish publicly (almost like secret diary entries huh). Since end of 2014, much has happened, which distracted me from writing more. I started a new job, got involved with volunteer work for events that encouraged cutting the small talk and sharing big ideas. I travelled to Chiang Mai, Hong Kong, Bangkok, Penang, Melbourne, Suzhou, Nanjing, Tokyo, Kyoto, Bali, Pulau Sibu, Kuala Lumpur, Malacca, Miri, Lombok, and maybe another one or two places I can’t remember. I also started a couple of relationships and ended one, living more than a year feeling ridiculously blessed and happy. Although it’s been a long time since someone rocked my world as much as this, I wasn’t prepared for all that happened. It was crazy, and several elements allowed it to happen, but eventually, as if by sixth sense, I knew it was time to return to normalcy. Even though I was ridiculously happy. Am I making sense? Sorry for sounding cryptic, but I just needed to make a mention.

I am still ridiculously happy. But for different reasons. 🙂

Someone said to me before, that people in their 30’s (did I mention I turn 31 this year?) will enjoy their lives more and more, because they’d be more sure-footed about their careers and gotten some credibility as an individual, whatever they might want to do. I think I’m starting to sense the wisdom of these words, even though I suffer from the case of Impostor Syndrome from time to time. In the world of digital marketing, I am a newbie, and I’m trying to learn as I go. Hopefully some day I will be able to somehow get a lot of funding to apply my knowledge to bigger, nobler causes… but for now, I shall milk the world of capitalism to explore the big universe of digital content consumption (or so the way I see what I do) the best that I can.

Another important thing that happened in the time I’ve been away: I applied twice for US tourist visa and got rejected the first time. Reflecting on this fact, my life might have turned out very different if it didn’t get rejected at the end of 2014. But finally it was approved earlier this week, so hurray! I have loved the US as a country for very long, and I can’t wait to see it. My flights are booked, I’ve informed my friends, I’ve applied for leave, and I’m saving up for it. It is also the US POTUS elections this year, and I’ve been following Bernie Sanders’ progress closely. I am keeping my fingers crossed for him, not just because he’s a compassionate, humble and sharp person, but because I think it’s time for America to enter a different era of less greed, less selfishness and more sensibility. I won’t go too much into this, just wanted to note that I truly #FeelTheBern! 🙂

Hopefully I’ll be able to spend more time here in the coming months. Stay tuned. Wubbity.

